Mount Dora Mayor Nick Girone takes the Helm with Three New Council Members

Mount Dora's newly elected mayor, Nick Girone

This year’s election brought sweeping change to Mount Dora’s City Council.

All four of the incumbents who were up for re-election were replaced with new council members – all but Nick Girone, the new mayor, are newcomers to Mount Dora government.

Mayor Cathy Hoechst will cede her seat to her challenger Nick Girone, on Tuesday, November 17.  After the election results are officially accepted by the current council, Girone will take the council helm.

At-large challenger Mark Slaby handily beat incumbent Michael Tedder.

Ryan Donovan of District One was resoundingly defeated by newcomer Laurie Tillet.

Marc Crail, the new District Four representative, took the seat of council member Denny Wood without opposition, as Wood declined to run for another term.

The continuing debate over the downtown infrastructure and streetscape project, as well as a disconnect with the electorate were cited as reasons that the challengers were elected to their seats over the incumbents.

The new council will be sworn in, by the City Clerk, at the 6:00 meeting of the city council, Tuesday, November 17, 2015, at City Hall – 510 North Baker Street.

Be on hand, to welcome your new city council, and thank the outgoing members for their service.

Melissa DeMarco, Editor (